Connect with us

World Cup

FIFA Under 17 World Cup Past Winners



FIFA Under 17 World Cup past winners

Who are FIFA Under 17 World Cup past winners? Which country has won the most FIFA Under-17 World Cup? Who is the winner of the FIFA Under-17 World Cup? Who won FIFA Men’s Under-17 World Cup 2019? Does FIFA 17 have World Cup? Who won the 2005 Under-17 World Cup? Has Nigeria ever won the Under-17 World Cup? Who is the highest goal scorer in the Under-17 World Cup? Which year did Nigeria host u17 World Cup?

Fifa Under 17 World Cup Host Countries

China hosted the first FIFA U-16 World Cup in 1985 and it was the Golden Eaglets of Nigeria that won the Cup first.

I didn’t make a mistake when I referred to the tournament as FIFA U-16 World Cup because that is what it actually was. It was in 2007 that it was rechristened to FIFA U-17 World Cup because the age limit was raised from 16 to 17 in 1991.

Below are all the different countries that have hosted the FIFA U-17 World Cup till date and the year they hosted.

China (1985)

Canada (1987)

Scotland (1989)

Italy (1991)

Japan (1993)

Ecuador (1995)

Egypt (1997)

New Zealand (1999)

Trinidad and Tobago (2001)

Finland (2003)

Peru (2005)

South Korea (2007)

Nigeria (2009)

Mexico (2011)

United Arab Emirates (2013)

Chile (2015)

India (2017)

Brazil (2019)

Peru (2021)

Fifa Under 17 Golden Glove Award Winners List

The Golden Glove award didn’t start until when Nigeria hosted the under 17 tournament in 2009. The award is usually given to the most valuable goalkeeper of the tournament. See below the list of goalkeepers who have been adjudged the best in each tournament year so far.

Nigeria 2009: Switzerland’s Benjamin Siegrist

Mexico 2011: Uruguay’s Jonathan Cubero

United Arab Emirates 2013: Nigeria’s Dele Alampasu

Chile 2015: Mali’s Samuel Diarra

India 2017: Brazil’s Gabriel Brazão

Brazil 2019: Argentina’s Matheus Donelli

Fifa Under 17 Golden Boot Winners List All Time

The adidas Golden Boot or Shoe Award is given to the top goal scorer of the FIFA World Cup and was introduced at the 1982 World Cup for the first time. See below all the players who have ever received the award at the under 17 level.

China 1985: West Germany’s Marcel Witeczek with 8 goals

Canada 1987: Ivory Coast’s Moussa Traoré with 5 goals

Scotland 1989: Guinea’s Fode Camara with 3 goals

Italy 1991: Brazil’s Adriano with 4 goals

Japan 1993: Nigeria’s Wilson Oruma with 6 goals

Ecuador 1995: Australia’s Daniel Allsopp with 5 goals

Egypt 1997: Spain’s David with 7 goals

New Zealand 1999: Ghana’s Ishmael Addo with 7 goals

Trinidad and Tobago 2001: France’s Florent Sinama Pongolle with record of 9 goals, won the Golden Ball that year too.

Finland 2003: Spain’s Cesc Fàbregas with 5 goals, won the Golden Ball in that tournament too.

Peru 2005: Mexico’s Carlos Vela with 5 goals

South Korea 2007: Nigeria’s Macauley Chrisantus with 7 goals

Nigeria 2009: Spain’s Borja with 5 goals

Mexico 2011: Ivory Coast’s Souleymane Coulibaly with record 9 goals

United Arab Emirates 2013: Sweden’s Valmir Berisha with 7 goals

Chile 2015: Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen with an all-time record of 10 goals, which is yet to be surpassed

India 2017: England‘s Rhian Brewster with 8 goals

Brazil 2019: New Zealand’s Sontje Hansen with 6 goals

Fifa Under 17 Golden Ball Winners in History

The Golden Ball award was first introduced in 1982 and is presented to the FIFA World Cup tournament’s best player. See all the winners of the award in the under 17 category below:

China 1985: Brazil’s William

Canada 1987: Nigeria’s Philip Osundu

Scotland 1989: Scotland’s James Will

Italy 1991: Ghana’s Nii Lamptey

Japan 1993: Ghana’s Daniel Addo

Ecuador 1995: Oman’s Mohamed Kathiri

Egypt 1997: Spain’s Sergio Santamaría

New Zealand 1999: United States’ Landon Donovan

Trinidad and Tobago 2001: France’s Florent Sinama Pongolle

Finland 2003: Spain’s Cesc Fàbregas

Peru 2005: Brazil’s Anderson

South Korea 2007: Germany’s Toni Kroos

Nigeria 2009: Nigeria’s Sani Emmanuel

Mexico 2011: Mexico’s Julio Gómez

United Arab Emirates 2013: Nigeria’s Kelechi Iheanacho

Chile 2015: Nigeria’s Kelechi Nwakali

India 2017: England’s Phil Foden

Brazil 2019: Argentina’s Gabriel Veron

Fifa Under-17 World Cup Winners List

Every country that has won the FIFA U-17 World Cup to date has been outlined below along with the coach that got each team its victory.

Brazil U17: 2019 (Guilherme Dalla Déa as coach)

England U17: 2017 (Steve Cooper as coach)

Nigeria U17: 2015 (Emmanuel Amunike as coach)

Nigeria U17: 2013     

Mexico U17: 2011     

Switzerland U17: 2010          

Nigeria U17: 2007     

Mexico U17: 2005 (Jesús Ramírez as coach)

Brazil U17: 2003 (Lucho Nizzo as coach)

France U17: 2001      

Brazil U17: 1999        

Brazil U17: 1997        

Ghana U17: 1995       

Nigeria U17: 1993     

Ghana U17: 1991 (Otto Pfister as coach)

Saudi Arabia U17: 1989        

Soviet Union U17: 1987 (Aleksandr Piskaryov as coach)

Nigeria U17: 1985     

Wrap Up

The country that has won the most championship is Nigeria with five titles in 1985, 1993, 2007, 2013, and 2015. They’ve lost in the final on three other occasions (1987, 2001 and 2009). Meanwhile, the teams that have the most under 17 World Cup appearances are Brazil, 17 times; they have been to every tournament except 1993. The United States is the other country that has been to every under 17 tournament too except in 2013.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.