Connect with us


African Women’s Footballer Of The Year Winners Till Date



African women's footballer of the year winners

Who are the African women’s footballer of the year winners? Who is the best African female footballer? Who is the current African Female footballer of the Year? Who won the African Best Player 2021? Who is the African Footballer of the Year 2021? Who is the richest female footballer in Africa? Who is the most decorated female footballer? Who is the best women’s football club? Who is Africa’s best player? Where is Emmanuel Amunike from? Who is known as the Queen of football? Who is the goat of female soccer? Who is the goat of female football? Who is the best woman player in Nigeria? Who is the best female soccer player in South Africa? How much is Asisat Oshoala’s salary? Who is the current African best female goalkeeper? Who is the best midfielder in Africa? Who won the player of the year 2021? Who is the king of football in Africa? Who won African Player of the Year 2020? Who won African Best Player 2020? Who is the best player in Africa 2021 2022? How much does the best women’s footballer earn? Who is the richest female footballer 2021?

African Women Footballer of the Year

The annual award event designed for Africa’s best female football players debuted in 2001.

Just as there is the African Player of The Year award for men, the women too didn’t want to be left, hence their own award.

Nigerian woman, Mercy Akide, won the female African Footballer Of The Year first in 2001 and another Nigerian, Asisat Oshoala, is the current holder of the award (2019 and 2022), making it the fifth time the FC Barcelona Femení star has been named the best women’s football player in Africa.

So far, four Nigerians have been named CAF Women’s Player of the Year 12 times.

Aside from Akide in 2001, there was Perpetua Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2010 & 2011), Cynthia Uwak (2006 & 2007) and Oshoala (2014, 2016, 2017, 2019 & 2022).

List Of Female African Footballer Of The Year

2001 – Mercy Akide; (Nigeria)

2002 – Alberta Sackey; (Ghana)

2003 – Adjoa Bayor; (Ghana)

2004 – Perpetua Nkwocha; (Nigeria)

2005 – Perpetua Nkwocha; (Nigeria)

2006 – Cynthia Uwak; (Nigeria)

2007 – Cynthia Uwak; (Nigeria)

2008 – Noko Matlou; (South Africa)

2009 – not awarded

2010 – Perpetua Nkwocha; (Nigeria)

2011 – Perpetua Nkwocha; (Nigeria)

2012 – Genoveva Añonma; (Equatorial Guinea)

2013 – not awarded

2014 – Asisat Oshoala; (Nigeria)

2015 – Gaëlle Enganamouit; (Cameroon)

2016 – Asisat Oshoala; (Nigeria)

2017 – Asisat Oshoala; (Nigeria)

2018 – Thembi Kgatlana; (South Africa)

2019 – Asisat Oshoala; (Nigeria)

2022 – Asisat Oshoala; (Nigeria)

Wrap Up

Did you notice in my African women’s footballer of the year winners list that CAF did not award any player on two occasions – 2009 and 2013?

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.