Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeNPFLNPFL Winners List: A Look Back at the Champions Over the Years

NPFL Winners List: A Look Back at the Champions Over the Years

Here Is The Easy Money-Making Trick Everyone Is Talking About! Learn More Here!

The Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) has been the premier football competition in Nigeria since its inception in 1972.

Over the years, several teams have emerged victorious, showcasing their talent and dominance in the Nigerian football scene.

Let’s take a trip down memory lane and revisit the NPFL winners from 1972 to 2023.

2023: Enyimba Aba

In 2023, Enyimba Aba clinched the NPFL title, securing their place as one of the most successful teams in the league’s history. Their exceptional performance and teamwork led them to victory, making their fans proud.

2022: Rivers United

Rivers United emerged as the champions in 2022, showcasing their prowess on the field. Their dedication and skill propelled them to the top, leaving a mark in the history of the NPFL.

2021: Akwa United

Akwa United claimed the NPFL title in 2021, solidifying their position as one of the top teams in Nigeria. Their relentless pursuit of excellence paid off, and they celebrated their victory with immense pride.

2020: No Champion

In 2020, due to unforeseen circumstances, there was no champion crowned in the NPFL. However, the spirit of competition remained strong, and teams continued to strive for success.

2019: Enyimba Aba

Enyimba Aba once again showcased their dominance in the league by winning the NPFL title in 2019. Their consistent performance and determination set them apart from the competition.

This is just a glimpse of the NPFL winners in recent years. Let’s take a look at the champions from previous decades:


In the 1980s, Enugu Rangers and Iwuanyanwu Nationale emerged as the dominant teams in the NPFL. Enugu Rangers clinched the title in 1980, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990, 1991, and 2016, while Iwuanyanwu Nationale secured the championship in 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, and 1993.


The 1990s witnessed the rise of teams like Julius Berger, Shooting Stars, and Enyimba Aba. Julius Berger claimed the title in 1990 and 2000, Shooting Stars emerged victorious in 1998 and 1995, while Enyimba Aba secured the championship in 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2010, and 2019.


The 2000s saw the dominance of Kano Pillars, Enyimba Aba, and Dolphins FC. Kano Pillars clinched the title in 2008, 2012, 2013, and 2014, Enyimba Aba emerged victorious in 2004, 2005, 2007, and 2010, while Dolphins FC secured the championship in 2011 and 2004.


In the 2010s, Enyimba Aba continued their winning streak, adding two more titles to their collection in 2015 and 2019. Other notable champions include Bayelsa United in 2009 and Plateau United in 2017.

Nigeria Professional Football League Champions List

2023Enyimba Aba
2022Rivers United
2021Akwa United
2020No Champion
2019Enyimba Aba
2018No Champion
2017Plateau United
2016Enugu Rangers
2015Enyimba Aba
2014Kano Pillars
2013Kano Pillars
2012Kano Pillars
2011Dolphins FC
2010Enyimba Aba
2009Bayelsa United
2008Kano Pillars
2007Enyimba Aba
2006Ocean Boys
2005Enyimba Aba
2004Dolphins FC
2003Enyimba Aba
2002Enyimba Aba
2001Enyimba Aba
2000Julius Berger
1999Lobi Stars
1998Shooting Stars
1997Eagle Cement Port Harcourt
1996Udoji United FC Awka
1995Shooting Stars
1994BCC Lions
1993Iwuanyanwu Nationale
1992Stationery Stores Lagos
1991Julius Berger
1990Iwuanyanwu Nationale
1989Iwuanyanwu Nationale
1988Iwuanyanwu Nationale
1987Iwuanyanwu Nationale
1986Leventis United Ibadan
1985New Nigeria Bank
1984Enugu Rangers
1983Shooting Stars
1982Enugu Rangers
1981Enugu Rangers
1980Shooting Stars
1979Bendel Insurance
1978Racca Rovers Kano
1977Enugu Rangers
1976Shooting Stars
1975Enugu Rangers
1974Enugu Rangers
1973Bendel Insurance
1972Mighty Jets Jos

As we reflect on the NPFL winners over the years, it is evident that Nigerian football has witnessed the rise of exceptional teams and players. The league continues to be a platform for talent development and a source of pride for football enthusiasts across the country.

This article was updated 2 months ago



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular